American Standard

Title: American Standard
Producers: Dave O'Donnell, John Pizzarelli & James Taylor
Label: Fantasy Records / Concord Records
Duration: 44:59
Release date: February 28, 2020
Release formats: CD, LP, 2LP (high fidelity), digital download

"It takes an extraordinary artist to re-imagine some of the most beloved songs of the 20th century and make them completely their own. Unlike most who have tackled similar material, American Standard’s beautifully simple, stripped-down arrangements are based on the 2-guitar collaboration of James Taylor and John Pizzarelli, rather than standard piano arrangements. James was determined to keep that sound at the center of the project, and the effect is mesmerizing.

American Standard was primarily recorded at James's home studio, TheBarn in MA, with additional work done at United Recording and Capitol Studios in Los Angeles and Treasure Isle and Blackbird Studios in Nashville."

Track list:

1. My Blue Heaven
2. Moon River
3. Teach Me Tonight
4. As Easy As Rolling Off A Log
5. Almost Like Being In Love
6. Sit Down, You're Rockin' The Boat
7. The Nearness of You
8. You've Got To Be Carefully Taught
9. God Bless the Child
10. Pennies From Heaven
11. My Heart Stood Still
12. Ol' Man River
13. It's Only A Paper Moon

14. The Surrey With the Fringe On Top

Target Exclusive version / SHM-CD version (Japan)
15. I've Grown Accustomed To Her Face
16. Never Never Land

Album musicians:
- James Taylor - Acoustic guitar & Vocals
- Steve Gadd - Drums
- Luis Conte - Percussion
- John Pizzarelli - Acoustic Rhythm Guitar/Nylon String Guitar
- Jimmy Johnson - Bass
- Viktor Krauss - Upright bass
- Larry Goldings - Melodica / Hammond B3 Organ
- Walt Fowler - Trumpet & Flugelhorn
- Lou Marini - Clarinet & Sax
- Stuart Duncan - Violin
- Jerry Douglas - Dobro
- Arnold McCuller - Vocals
- Kate Markowitz - Vocals
- Andrea Zonn - Vocals
- Dorian Holley - Vocals
- Caroline Taylor - Vocals